FUCK YOU, Algebra! F-U-U-U-U-U-U-U-U-C-K YO-O-O-O-U!!!

There are many things that I don’t like in life. Country music, over the top chick flicks, the Twilight phenomenon, politicians and warm weather in the winter time where there shouldn’t be warm weather are a few of them. There are few things that I hate in life. Some of those things include the New England Patriots, the Boston Celtics, really loud drunk people in bars who can’t take the hint they really shouldn’t be drinking anymore. But at the top of that list, beyond a shadow of a doubt is algebra. It is the bane of my academic existence. I hate it with every fiber of my being. I hate it down to my very soul. I hate it like Red Sox fans hate the Yankees. I hate it like hot women hate really hot women. I hate it with a passion. If algebra were a living breathing thing, I’d go all Fargo on its ass and feed it to the wood chipper.

This thing is to me what kryptonite is to Superman. It weakens me and makes me sick. It’s like the school bully in elementary school who sits right next to you. It mocks me and punches me, tortures me, points and laughs and makes me feel stupid. But I have no choice but to deal with because I have to. I have three classes I have to take, two of which don’t even count, in order to graduate. I’m on day four the second class and the big bully has already punched me in the face and is laughing at me.

For the record I’ve never been that good at math. Oh, I can do real world math just fine. If I need to figure out the tax in the store or estimate a bill I may have to take care of I can do that. Adding, subtracting, division, all that, I can do. It’s only when you start putting letters and numbers, factors of letters and numbers and fractions on top of that does it go horribly horribly wrong. It’s not that I can’t do it. In class, when it’s explained I can do it. But after I leave and go to my other classes I forget how, and for some reason it’s damn near impossible for me to relearn it. This doesn’t happen any other time with any other subject, just this.

For example, for most people who have taken or take algebra, this problem – Ax + By = c solve for x – is pretty easy. Me, hell, I think I’d have an easier time deciphering ancient scrolls from biblical times. And I know what you’re thinking, “Why don’t you just get a tutor?”  Working on that. As a matter of fact, I started on that yesterday, and the guy was nice enough, but I could see that my inability to not completely get what he was trying to say was frustrating him. Which brings me to the main reason I hate this God forsaken thing…I hate feeling stupid and hate even more being made to feel stupid. Complaining aside, I’m going to have to figure out a way to beat this bully eventually, because I can’t go far if I don’t.

One thought on “FUCK YOU, Algebra! F-U-U-U-U-U-U-U-U-C-K YO-O-O-O-U!!!

  1. lindy says:

    Wish I was still good enough in Algebra so I can help you out. It used to be one of my favorite Math subjects in highschool. I was quite good at it. Like very. I enjoyed them beyond all other match, especially story problems. Then came Algebra 2 with an evil teacher and it all went to hell. Think I ended up getting a C in that class, which for me was JUST FINE, as long as I passed and didn’t have to look at his face anymore.

Leave a Reply

