Cell phone zombies

So there is a disturbing trend that has been steadily growing over the past couple of years.  Almost any and everywhere you go you’re bound to run into them, and by them I mean the people whose eyes seem to be chained to their cell phones. It doesn’t matter where you go: to the theater, a restaurant, a classroom, bookstore, doctor’s office, bar, club, so on and so on. It’s become an epidemic, an epidemic of cell phone zombies. (as I like to call them) And they’re everywhere out in public, sometimes with friends with the entire world at play around them, seemingly lost inside that small screen full of apps. It’s gotten to the point where I have to ask: why even bother going out if you’re going to be too busy with your phone to pay attention to what’s going on around you?

 

Almost every time I leave the house I know I’m going to run into one of these zombies, staring blankly at their phones, their fingers and thumbs zipping around their keyboard or screen, texting or downloading, uploading or watching, listening to or recording something. Does anyone actually use their phone to talk to anyone anymore? I honestly believe that very shortly people will just cease talking to each other altogether, instead they’ll just text their conversations to each other as one sits across the table from the other. I have a cell phone, and yes I do take or make the occasional text here and there, but I’m not attached to my phone nor do I use it as my source of entertainment when I’m out and about like so many others seem to do at this point and time.

 

Seriously, does anyone use their cell phones to actually speak to people anymore??

 

One thought on “Cell phone zombies

  1. lindy says:

    The curse of smartphones. If you ever break down to get one, you’ll probably get sucked in too. It’s the convenience of bringing the internet with you. But if you don’t have one, I’d recommend staying that way.

Leave a Reply

